Lessons for Teens & Adults.
We were founded in 2006 by Delia and Carlos Salas. The goal was to establish a higher level for driver education in the Mid-Valley. With dedication and compassion Delcar Defensive Driving School is teaching both adults and kids to be better safer drivers.
Your safety and our integrity are backed by over 50 years of combined professional experience that will serve you better with personalized instruction.
We hold our instructors to the highest standards. Each instructor is licensed by the State of Texas (a minimum of 6 hours college credit) in driver's education. Our instructors have vast experience teaching teens safe driving skills, of in-car and classroom teaching. As well, some instructors are state certified to give the actual teen and adult driving test.
Approximately 4 to 6 weeks but we could get sooner dates for our clients at no cost. You can contact us for more enquiry
To get your first TX drivers license, all applicants under 18 must complete at least 6 hours of an approved drivers education course. Texas follows a graduated license program, which has several phases through with a teen will need to progress through in order to finally earn his or her unrestricted drivers license.Once you've held your valid instruction permit for at least six months, have turned at least16, and has completed both the classroom and laboratory (driving) portions of driver education, you're eligible to ``graduate`` to the Phase 2 of the Graduated Drivers License program —a provisional license. The provisional license will come with certain restrictions that will automatically be lifted once you turn 18.
Candidates for the Texas instruction permit must be a minimum of 15 years of age with a completion certificate from an approved driver education course. They must follow these rules: all applicants under the age of 18 must have their application signed by a parent or legal guardian that has custody of the teen driver. both the applicant and the authorized adult must also sign a Zero Tolerance Law notification document that explains the suspension procedures if a teen driver is found to have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. all applicants for an instruction permit must provide valid identification such as an original or certified birth certificate, social security number or a valid United States passport. Prior to receiving an instruction permit, teen drivers under the age of 18 must submit verification of attendance and enrollment in school or present a valid high school diploma or State of Texas certificate of completion equivalent. In addition, teen drivers must pass a vision screening and a written exam to receive an instruction permit. Once all of the criteria have been met, a State of Texas Instruction Permit will be issued. The instruction permit is issued without a photo and may only be used to practice driving while accompanied by a licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age with a minimum of 1 year of driving experience. The licensed adult must sit in the front passenger seat next to the instruction permit holder at all times during the practice driving sessions. The instruction permit is valid until the applicants next birthday plus 1 year and is not renewable as an instruction permit.
Phase 1 of the Texas Graduated Driver License Program Applicants under the age of 18 must hold their learner permit for 6 months before graduating to Phase 2. If the teen driver has their instruction permit suspended or revoked during the 6-month period, they must serve their suspension and then remain suspension free for the remainder of the 6-month period to graduate to Phase 2. During the Phase 1 period the teen driver must complete an approved driver training course that consists of both classroom and on-the-road driver training. After this is completed and the instruction permit holder has reached the age of 16 they will be eligible to graduate to Phase 2. Provisional License: Phase 2 of the Graduated Driver License Program For the first 12 months, a provisional license holder under the age of 18 may not drive with more than 1 person that is under the age of 21 that is not an immediate family member. In addition, teen drivers may not drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM except under the following conditions: Medical Emergencies Purposes of Employment A School Sanctioned Activity After 6 months have passed both the passenger and time restrictions are waived. All Phase 2 drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone or any wireless communication device while driving. All original driver licenses held by teen drivers under the age of 18 are marked Provisional and will expire on the 18th birthday or the next birthday after the date it is issued.
Texas has what is called The Safety Responsibility Act that mandates that all drivers are financially responsible for any accident that they may cause. By law all vehicle owners must have a minimum amount of liability insurance. The numbers listed below reflect the minimum liability insurance required by state law. $25,000 For the Injury or Death of 1 Person $50,000 - For the Injury or Death of 2 Persons $25,000 Damage to the Property of Others Proof of financial responsibility must be provided upon the request of a law enforcement officer.